Shortlist for Scottish Children’s Book Awards 2015 Announced

Pic: Rob McDougall

By Sophie Mead

The shortlist for the ninth annual Scottish Children’s Book Awards was announced this week, inviting young people to select their favourite reads from Scottish authors.

The nine shortlisted books will be read by tens of thousands of Scottish children who have until 5 February 2016 to cast their vote for their favourite title in their age category.

The annual Scottish Children’s Book Awards, run by Scottish Book Trust with support from Creative Scotland, are a celebration of the most popular children’s and young adult books by Scottish authors and illustrators. They aim to inspire children to develop a deep love of reading and encourage budding authors to get writing.

The 2016 shortlist is split into three age categories:

Bookbug Readers (3-7 years)

  • Never Tickle a Tiger by Pamela Butchart and Marc Boutavant (Bloomsbury)
  • Wanted! Ralfy Rabbit Book Burglar by Emily MacKenzie (Bloomsbury)
  • Mouse’s First Night at Moonlight School by Simon Puttock and Ali Pye (Nosy Crow)

Younger Readers (8-11 years)

  • The Nowhere Emporium by Ross Mackenzie (Floris)
  • The Mysteries of Ravenstorm Island: The Lost Children by Gillian Philip (Orchard)
  • The Fastest Boy in the World by Elizabeth Laird (Macmillan)

Older Readers (12-16 years)

  • Black Dove White Raven by Elizabeth Wein (Egmont)
  • The Piper by Danny Weston (the pseudonym of Philip Caveney) (Andersen)
  • Trouble on Cable Street by Joan Lingard (Catnip)

Alongside the awards, the Book Review Competition, sponsored by Waterstones, offers pupils the chance to win book tokens and an author visit to their school.

Jasmine Fassl, Head of Schools at Scottish Book Trust, said: “Hundreds of schools and libraries from literally every corner of Scotland involve tens of thousands of children in reading and reviewing the shortlisted books every year, proof of both the eagerness of Scottish young people to make their voice heard and of the quality of the shortlisted books.”

For details on how your school can vote and take part, head to Accessible digital versions of the books are available to all schools at Winners will be announced on 2 March.

For full details on the wards, go to